Scholarship in AfricaSouth Africa

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships 2024

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships are fully-funded scholarships for postgraduate study in the Commonwealth.

Applications are invited for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships 2024. The last date is May 2024.  The Commonwealth Scholarship provides Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth students who are motivated to improve their community by pursuing a master’s degree abroad with full financial aid. Develop a global network and broaden your viewpoints.

For students who are dedicated to bringing about change in their communities, receiving a scholarship is a once-in-a-lifetime chance to explore a foreign nation and culture, expand their horizons, and create a lasting worldwide network.

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships Details

  • Degree level: Masters’s Degree
  • Scholarship coverage: Fully Funded
  • Eligible Nationality: International
  • Deadline:  May 2024. 

Financial Benefits

  • Fully Funded Tuition Fees
  • Assistance for living expenses (stipend) for the award period
  • Return economy flights to their host country
  • An arrival allowance
  • Research Support – Permission is granted only

List of Countries and Universities


  • LLM Law
  • MA Applied Linguistics
  • MA Development Studies (by thesis or SRP*)
  • MA Diplomacy & International Affairs (by coursework)
  • MA Education
  • MA Environmental Management
  • MA Geography
  • MA Governance
  • MA History
  • MA Journalism
  • MA Linguistics
  • MA Literature
  • MA Marine Management
  • MA Mathematics
  • MA Pacific Studies
  • MA Psychology
  • MA Social Policy
  • MA Sociology
  • Master of Agriculture (Thesis)
  • Master of Business Administration
  • Master of Education
  • Master of Environmental Law
  • MCom Accounting (Thesis)
  • MCom Economics (by coursework or by thesis)
  • MCom Land Management (by thesis or SRP*)
  • MCom Management 
  • Public Administration 
  • MCom Official Statistics
  • MCom Population Studies and Demography
  • MCom Professional Accounting
  • MCom Tourism 
  • Hospitality Management 
  • MSc Engineering
  • MSc Physics
  • MSc Biology
  • MSc Chemistry
  • MSc Climate Change
  • MSc Computing Science
  • MSc Earth Science
  • MSc Environmental Science
  • MSc Geospatial Science
  • MSc Information Systems
  • MSc Marine Science
  • MSc Mathematics

Papua New Guinea

  • MSc Agriculture
  • MSc Applied Physics
  • MTech Exploration Geophysics
  • Master of Communication Studies
  • MEng Civil Engineering
  • MEng Communication Engineering
  • MEng Mechanical Engineering

South Africa

  • MSc Astrophysics*
  • MSc Environmental Science*
  • MSc Chemistry*
  • MSc Pharmacology
  • MSc Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • MSc Pharmaceutics
  • M in Industrial Engineering
  • MA History
  • MA Music
  • MA Social Anthropology
  • MA Development Studies
  • MA International Relations

Eligibility Criteria

  • Request a scholarship. You must be from a Commonwealth nation or be a refugee.
  • A BS degree is required at the time of application.
  • No age restriction applies.
  • Admission to a university could have its own requirements.

Application Deadline

The last date is May 2024. 

How To Apply?

The application process for the 2023–2024 Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships is entirely online. Some scholarships are automatically considered for international students who apply to the University of Canterbury for admission, while others require an application. Visit the official website for additional details.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS)?

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) is a program that offers scholarships for students from Commonwealth countries to pursue postgraduate studies in various disciplines.

Who is eligible to apply for the QECS program?

Eligibility criteria may vary, but generally, applicants must be citizens or residents of Commonwealth countries, have completed an undergraduate degree or equivalent, and meet specific academic requirements set by the host institution.

What countries are eligible to participate in the QECS program?

QECS is open to students from Commonwealth countries across Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, and the Americas, as well as some European countries.

What academic disciplines are covered under the QECS program?

The program covers a wide range of academic disciplines, including but not limited to arts and humanities, social sciences, engineering, sciences, and technology.

How do I apply for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship?

To apply for QECS, candidates typically need to submit an online application through the official website or the scholarship’s administering authority in their home country.

What is the application deadline for QECS?

The last date is May 2024. 

Back to top button